The news is by your side.

Over 1,30,000 fans sing Indian national anthem at Narendra Modi Stadium


The start of the 2023 Cricket World Cup final at the Narendra Modi Stadium was a spectacular sight as over 1,30,000 Indian fans sang the national anthem together. Australia who were already seen as the underdog in the game must have been intimidated by the scenes created by the home fans and every Indian must be extremely proud of how the entire nation came together to support the team to encourage India.

India vs AUS World Cup Final: LIVE Updates and Scores

The video of the fans singing the national anthem on Sunday before the India vs Australia match has gone viral on social media platforms.

Meanwhile, Australian captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to field first against the undefeated India. Both teams are unchanged for the clash at the world’s biggest cricket stage where Australia, playing in their eighth final, are looking for a sixth title.

World Cup 2023: News | Schedule | Results | Points table

India won the World Cup in 1983 and then again at home in 2011.

Rohit Sharma’s India have won all 10 of their matches in the tournament and retain the winning XI from their 70-run win over New Zealand in Mumbai on Wednesday.

Rohit said he would have opted to bat first had he won the toss.

“I would bat first, the pitch looks good, it’s a big game, let’s put runs on the board,” Rohit said as the crowd cheered.

“It will be great. The biggest event in terms of cricket events. We have to stay calm and get the job done.”

The hosts are looking to end a world title drought since winning the Champions League in 2013.

Red-hot Virat Kohli led the batting tournament chart with 711 runs after he smashed the 50th ODI century record in the semi-finals to surpass compatriot Sachin Tendulkar’s 49 tons.

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami tops the bowling list with 23 wickets in six matches.

Cummins named the same team that won the semi-final against South Africa by three wickets in Kolkata on Thursday.

In the group, they lost to India in their opener by six wickets and South Africa by 134 runs before putting together an eight-match winning streak.

“It seems a bit of a dry wicket and we wanted to bowl first. Dew is one factor and it’s very damaging at night at this location,” Cummins said.

“We were really proud of the group. A tough start to the tournament but they haven’t put a foot wrong since.”

Australia beat India in the 2003 World Cup final in Johannesburg.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wkt), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis (wk), Marcus Stonis, Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins (capt), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

With AFP inputs

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.